Musings

of that crazy ginger girl around the block…

“How much good inside a day? Depends on how good you live ’em.”

Do you have one person who makes you want to be a better person?

It’s hit me slowly, but I’m realizing I do – Sam (Med-Boy – I decided I don’t like that nickname, so I’m dropping it). 

Sometimes, out of the blue, we’ll be in the middle of a conversation and he just says something and I look at him and think “God, I am so lucky to have found someone who thinks like I do.”  Or I’ll just kind of look at him and I know I have this goopy look on my face because what he’s just said makes me so happy to be with him.

I think it hit me most prominently on Sunday.  We were at Giant Eagle and the food bank was there, handing out lists of what they needed.  So, I grabbed a double pack of peanut butter for them.  And, as I always do, I used my reusable  bags (which, I have an impressive collection, if I do say so myself).  Sam made a comment on the way out, which was said in a total joking matter, about how much good I had just done in that one trip, donating to the food bank and saving the environment by using my cloth bags.  And I laughed.

But then I realized I wanted to be a better person for him.

But then it hit me again this afternoon.  I was coming down East Street on the North Side and there was a homeless man walking down the side of the road.  And I had extra water bottles from an event I had just come from.  So I gave him one.  It’s not much to me – I didn’t pay for it, they were sitting in my car.  But who knows what it meant to him. 

And it hit me that I want to be a better person for me.

I want to know that I’m being the best that I can be because I can.  Not because I’m trying to prove something to someone.  I’m certainly encouraged by Sam, but if he disappeared tomorrow (please God that he doesn’t), but if he did – I think I would still want to be a better person.

But he certainly sparked something.  Because he’s right – no one should be without a roof over their heads or without something to eat.  And I have been blessed with an abundance of both of those things.  Everything else is really just a blessing.

So, today, I ask you to pass the blessing on.  It doesn’t have to be big – it can be as simple as purchasing a $3 double pack of peanut butter.  But do you how many sandwiches can be come from one of those jars?

To quote Shel Silverstein: “How much good inside a day?  Depends on how good you live ’em.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

