Musings

of that crazy ginger girl around the block…

Classic versus trends

So, I just have to say that what started this post is sitting on a bus and noticing that men’s fashion really hasn’t changed since the early 2000s and how I’m a little jealous of that fact. Men could probably get away with purchasing an item in 2003 and wearing it today.

Women, on the other hand, seem to always have to make the decision on whether to buy into a classic style or a trendy style. Do I purchase the $100 jeans that come pre-ripped and will only be in style another 3 years max or do I purchase these boring $200 jeans that will (hopefully) last me another 10-15 years. (I do not buy into the theory that anyone should buy $200 jeans, btw, but this is the figurative world where people make decisions like that. Or I’ve been watching too much Gossip Girl recently. You decide.)

I came into my style late I feel. My confidence level in high school, as for any girl really I’m sure, was fairly low and because I’m also a bigger girl, clothes in the time I was in high school were not good for me. However, now that I’m older, they work much better and my style has geared towards more classic, though I’m also starting to see more trendy items land on my wardrobe. It could also be that the items that started as trendy have turned more classic and so they make sense to be in my closet, like riding boots.

I still find that I have issues somedays finding the appropriate clothes, but it’s getting easier. Especially since retailers have realized that not all girls are a size 2. But I wonder did my confidence level grow because I was able to dress better or am I dressing better because I have more confidence? It’s basically that old adage of the clothes making the man or the man making the clothes.

Now if only my tights could fit today.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

